Uncategorized

Haul Results and New Favorites

I’ve been M.I.A. because a lot has been going on, but I’m back with a haul.

A.Jackson haul results

One of my latest trips to Walmart, Walgreens, brought the following:

1) Shea Moisture Yucca &Baobab Anti-Breakage Masque

I needed a good deep conditioner for my 4b/4c,  dense, thin, hair.  I’d heard mixed reviews about this masque, but since the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner is my favorite leave in, and since I’ve been trying Shea Moisture in general, I figured at worse I’d end up using it as a light conditioner.  I ended up really liking this thick masque.  It’s consistency is extremely thick, and I ended up adding some coconut oil to it just because I love coconut oil.  I don’t know if my hair is thickening, but it’s definitely soft and hydrated, and I have notices less breakage.  The only con to this masque is that, if you’re heavy-handed with product like I am, you could go through a jar of this pretty quickly.  One jar lasts me about five wash days, but in my experience with natural deep conditioners, you get what you pay for.  I definitely think this masque is worth it.   I’m still looking for a great protein treatment though. I may try  the Shea Moisture mist soon.

2) Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Shine Shampoo

I love the As I Am Coconut Cowash, but I shampoo my hair once a month with a sulfate free shampoo. I was using my sister’s Doctor Miracle’s shampoo over the summer, but I needed my own.  I stumbled upon one of Walgreen’s amazing buy 1 get 1 half off sale on Shea Moisture products; so, I took advantage and got the anti-breakage mask  and the curl shampoo.  I’ve used the shampoo since, and it’s definitely a permanent part of my regimen. Despite the suds, it cleanses without drying, and the fact that it’s sulfate, paraben, and pretty much”all bad stuff” free is a plus. No cons for this product, and since I use it once a month only, I feel like it lasts forever.

3) Spring Valley Ultra Multivitamin for Women (Multivitamins with Biotin)

I had been looking for a multivitamin with a high concentration of biotin, and the Spring Valley product line definitely offered it.  I’m not a scientist, doctor, herbalist, or professional vitamin researcher, but here’s what I’ve found.

Pros: has all the essential vitamins and high biotin concentration (I threw out the container; so, I can’t say exactly how much), and  is affordable (I paid about $8.00)

Cons: Have to take two daily; so, you finish with the bottle in a month.

All in all, I’m going back to my once daily Biotin capsules.

Have you tried any of these products?

Which are your favorites?

I’ll keep you posted on how my hair growth is coming, and stay tuned for a fall outfit post.

A.Jackson

One thought on “Haul Results and New Favorites

  1. Pingback: Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie | KnotmyCurls

Leave a Reply

